
Proposed Order of the State Public Defender Board 
Amending a Rule 

 
The Wisconsin State Public Defender Board proposes an order to amend           PD 6.02 
(1) relating to the repayment of cost of legal representation 
 
Analysis 

Sec. 977.075 requires that the state public defender board establish by rule a program 
for repayment of the cost of legal representation. Sec. 977.075 (1) requires that the state 
public defender board establish by rule fixed amounts as flat payments for the cost of 
representation that a person may elect to pay. PD 6.02 (1) is the original rule that was 
promulgated as required by sec. 977.075 (1). The rule provides a flat payment schedule 
for persons electing to pay within 30 days of the appointment of counsel.  
 
The state public defender board authorized a pilot project beginning in April 1998 in the 
14 counties listed below.  This project provided 60 days, instead of 30, to pay the lower 
prepayment amount as satisfaction of the payment obligation. 
 
Adams Forest  Langlade Oneida Price  Waupaca  
Vilas  Florence Kenosha Marathon Portage Taylor   
Wood    Lincoln 
 
The board authorized the expansion of the project to include Milwaukee in January 
2000.  Based on 24 months of data, the number of prepayments increased about 2.6% 
annually in Milwaukee.  The 14 counties in the project outside of Milwaukee 
experienced a 3.3% increase in prepayments.   
 
The proposed rule would amend PD 6.02 (1) to provide a 60-day flat payment option 
for all counties. It is anticipated that such a rule would result in similar increases in 
payments in the additional counties. 
 
It is anticipated that expanding the 60 day prepayment option statewide will increase 
revenues annually approximately $110,000.   
 
Statutory authority for rule: sec. 977.02(4m) Stats. 
Statutes interpreted: sec. 977.075 (1) Stats. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
PD 6.02 (1) is amended to read: 
 
PD 6.02 Prepayment option 

(1) A client may elect to prepay, within  30 60 days of appointment of counsel by the 
state public  defender, the optional prepayment amount for the cost of representation 
specified in the following prepayment fee schedule: 

 
 

This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month commencing after the date of 
publication, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
 
 
Dated: 4/19/02    Wisconsin State Public Defender Board 
 
 
 
 
      By:      
       Daniel M Berkos, Chair 
       State Public Defender Board 

Type of Case Amount Type of Case Amount

First Degree Intentional 

Homicide $500 Misdemeanor $50 

Other Class Aor B Felony $100 
Parole/Probation 

Revocation $50 

Sexual Predator 

(s.980.02) $100 TPR $50 

Other Felony $50 Special Proceeding $25 

Commitment $25 Paternity $50 

Chapter 55 $50 Appellate/Plea $50 

Appellate/Trial $100 


